The Wonder Clock

by Howard Pyle

Description:  "Four and twenty marvellous tales, one for each hour of the day," retold in a novel and entertaining manner by a master of the form. While drawing on German, English, and Scandinavian folk literature for many of his characters and plots, Pyle reworks the material in an imaginative way, crafting the tales in his own inimitable style. Equally engaging are the numerous woodcuts that accompany the stories and enliven the narrative.

Additional information:

Ages:  8-12
Length:  422 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2009
ISBN:  978-1-59915-339-1
Genres:  Literature, Fairy Tales

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Bearskin
2. The Water of Life 
3. How One Turned His Trouble to Some Account 
4. How Three Went Out into the Wide World 
5. The Clever Student and the Master of Black Arts 
6. The Princess Golden Hair and the Great Black Raven 
7. Cousin Greylegs, the Red Fox, and Grandfather Mole 
8. One Good Turn Deserves Another 
9. The White Bird 
10. How The Good Gifts Were Used by Two 
11. How Boots Befooled the King 
12. The Step-mother 

13. Master Jacob
14. Peterkin and the Little Grey Hare 
15. Mother Hildegarde 
16. Which Is Best 
17. The Simpleton and His Little Black Hen 
18. The Swan Maiden 
19. The Three Little Pigs and the Ogre 
20. The Staff and the Fiddle 
21. How the Princess's Pride Was Broken 
22. How Two Went into Partnership 
23. King Stork 
24. The Best That Life Has To Give

An Inside View...

Related Titles...