The See and Say Series, book 1

by Sarah Louise Arnold, Elizabeth C. Bonney, and E. F. Southworth

Description:  Book One of The See and Say Series is a Picture Book, which, by means of its pictures and stories, presents and teaches the sounds of the letters of the alphabet, with simple lessons in word building.  Every new sound is taught in this order: the story, the story picture, the sound, the letter, the type word with its initial. All lessons which do not present a new sound provide drill upon the sounds already learned. The book presents all the letters of the alphabet, with ck, ch, sh, ow (ou), ng, ee, oo, oy (oi), th. Finally, the fact is impressed that every letter stands for a sound; that letters are combined to form the printed or written word; that sounds are combined to form a spoken word; and that a word may be separated into its sounds or built up from sounds.

Additional information:

Ages:  5-7
Format:  Paperback
Illustrations:  Color
Year published:  2022
ISBN:  978-1-63334-175-3
Genres:  Readers

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Reading-Literature: The Primer

by Harriette Taylor Treadwell

Bobby and the Big Road 

by Maud Lindsay

Everyday Classics: Primer 

by Franklin T. Baker

Jataka Tales

by Ellen C. Babbitt