The Men Who Found America

by Frederick W. Hutchinson

Description:  An excellent introduction to the exploration of the Americas through short adventure-packed biographies of Columbus, Cortez, Pizzaro, Hudson, La Salle, Balboa, De Vaca, Raleigh, Champlain, and many others. The author is very even- handed in his treatment of explorers and Indians, and makes moral distinctions between the most abusive conquistadors, and the relatively noble missionary explorers.

Additional information:

Ages:  7-10
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Color
Year published:  2016
ISBN:  978-1-63334-562-1
Genres:  History, World History

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. The Man Who Found America
2. The White Tyrant of Darien
3. The Beautiful City of the Floating Islands
4. The Swineherd Who Wanted a Castle
5. The Noble Who Became a Slave
6. How De Soto Came to the Father of Waters

7. The Boy Who Loved the Sea
8. The Little Red Princess of the Forest
9. The Englishman Who Sailed for the Dutch
10. The Father of New France
11. The Friends of the Indians
12. What Came of It All

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Story of Columbus

by Gladys M. Imlach

America First

by Lawton B. Evans

A Book of Discovery

by M. B. Synge