by Percy A. Scholes

Description: An engaging introduction to the art of listening, starting with folk music familiar to all, and proceeding to the ways musical pieces are constructed from parts. Using a conversational style, the author draws out from the reader the points he wants to make, illustrating them with short musical pieces that appeal to a broad audience. Along the way he gives tips of what to listen for, strengthening his reader's listening skills by such games as 'Camouflaged Tunes.' In the course of the book, Scholes gives a brief history of classical music and introduces many of the noted composers, whetting appetite for further listening opportunities. Musical terms are introduced only as needed, with a full glossary at the end of the book of terms the student is likely to encounter.

Additional information:

Ages:  13-18
Length:  164 pages
Format:  Paperback
Illustrations:  None
Year published:  2021
ISBN:  978-1-63334-127-2
Genres:  Music

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Table of Contents

1. Introduction
2. The Need for a Guide
3. Some Simple Terms Explained
4. What the Listener Really Needs To Know
5. How the Composer Works
6. On the Principle of Design in Music
7. How Small Instrumental Pieces Are Made
8. On the Mysteries of 'Sonata-Form'
9. On the Sonata or Symphony as a Whole
10. 'What Do You Mean by Your Mountainous Fugues'
11. On 'Programme' Music
12. On the Song, on Oratorio, and on Opera
13. The Orchestra and Its Instruments
14. Some Typical Combinations
15. The Chain of Composers
16. Appendix
17. A Concert-Goer's Glossary

An Inside View...

Related Titles...