The Growth of the British Empire

by M.B. Synge

Description:  Book V of the Story of the World Series. Treats the revolutions in South America and Mexico, the Boer War in South Africa, and the exploration of Central Africa, the Greek and Italian wars for independence, the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the opening of trade with Japan and China, and the rebellion in India.

Additional information:

Ages:  13-18
Length:  270 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2006
ISBN:  978-1-59915-017-8
Genres:  History, British History

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. How Spain Lost South America
2. The Heroes of Independence 
3. The Greek War 
4. Victoria—Queen of England 
5. The Great Boer Trek 
6. The Story of Natal 
7. The Story of Canada 
8. The Fur-Traders' Land 
9. The Winning of the West 
10. A Great Arctic Expedition 
11. Discoveries in Australia 
12. The Last King of France 
13. Louis Kossuth and Hungary 
14. The Crimean War 
15. The Indian Mutiny 
16. The Awakening of Italy 
17. King of United Italy 
18. Civil War in America 
19. The Mexican Revolution 
20. Founding the German Empire 
21. The Franco-German War 
22. The Dream of Cecil Rhodes 

23. The Dutch Republics of South Africa
24. Livingstone's Discoveries in Central Africa 
25. China's Long Sleep 
26. The Land of the Rising Sun 
27. Japan—Britain's Ally 
28. Russia 
29. The Annexation of Burma 
30. The Story of Afghanistan 
31. The Empire of India 
32. Gordon—The Hero of Khartum 
33. The Redemption of Egypt 
34. The Story of British West Africa 
35. The Story of Uganda 
36. The Founding of Rhodesia 
37. British South Africa 
38. The Dominion of Canada 
39. Australia—the New Nation 
40. Freedom for Cuba 
41. Reign of Queen Victoria 
42. Welding the Empire 
43. Citizenship

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Florence Nightingale

by Laura E. Richards

Our Empire Story

by H. E. Marshall