by Percy A. Scholes

Description: A delightful introduction to the major composers that takes readers on a journey of discovery and leaves them eager to learn more. In this first book, the reader comes to know Purcell, Handel, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, Chopin, Greg, Elgar, and McDowell, first through stories of their childhood and then through representative pieces of their music, selected for appeal on first hearing. Chapters on Counterpoint, Fugues, Sonatas, Symphonies, and Orchestras appear at just the right point in the narrative.

Additional information:

Ages:  13-18
Length:  179 pages
Format:  Paperback
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2021
ISBN:  978-1-63334-128-9
Genres:  Music

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Table of Contents

1. The Country People as Composers
2. English Music in the Days of Drake and Shakespeare
3. Henry Purcell—The Greatest British Composer
4. George Frederick Handel
5. John Sebastian Bach
6. C-O-N-T-R-A-P-U-N-T-A-L—A Big Word Explained
7. All About Fugues and How To Listen to Them
8. Haydn
9. Mozart

10. Sonatas and Symphonies
11. Beethoven
12. What Is an Orchestra?
13. Schumann
14. Chopin
15. What Is 'Romantic Music'?
16. Grieg and His Norwegian Music
17. Edward Elgar
18. Macdowell—The American Composer

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Johann Sebastian Bach

by George P. Upton

Joseph Haydn

by George P. Upton