The Children Who Followed the Piper

by Padraic Colum

Description:  The tale of the Pied Piper is well known; the fate that befalls the children after they leave the city gates, however, has long remained untold. This story tells of how, after following the piper, the Emperor’s son Valentine, his brave friend John Ball, and the beautiful maiden Golden Hood find themselves captured in the Wood of Daylight-Gone among the old Gods of Greece and Rome and recounts their many adventures as they endeavor to return home.

Additional information:

Ages:  5-8
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2016
ISBN:  978-1-63334-579-9
Genres:  Literature, Legends

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. How the Pied Piper Came
2. The Way the Children Went
3. The Wood of Daylight-Gone
4. Old Couple's House
5. The Deep Wood and the Dark Forest
6. In the Deep Wood Again
7. The Children and the Gods of the Old Time
8. One Goes into the Dark Forest
9. Another Goes into the Dark Forest

10. John Ball
11. Golden Hood
12. Valentine
13. The Nest of Eagles
14. The Sleeping Maiden
15. The Children Leave the Wood of Daylight-Gone
16. The Witch's Curse
17. The End of the Story

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Forge in the Forest

by Padraic Colum

The Pied Piper of Hamelin

by Robert Browning

The Sons o' Cormac

by Aldis Dunbar

The Joyous Travelers

by Maud Lindsay