The Children of the New Forest

by Frederick Marryat

Description:  An engaging adventure story set in England during the time of the Civil War when King Charles was deposed and the Roundheads were vying with the Cavaliers. The central characters are the four children of staunch Royalist Colonel Beverley killed in battle while fighting for King Charles. Through the efforts of aged forester Jacob Armitage, the children escape the burning of their ancestral home and take up residence with him in his cottage in the New Forest. As his 'grandchildren' they take eagerly to the peasant life and learn to provide for themselves by using their wits. The pitfall they build to trap cattle catches more than they bargain for, leading to one adventure after another. Against all odds they deftly maneuver through the treacherous landscape of the times, eventually recovering their family estate.

Additional information:

Ages:  9-12
Length:  351 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  None
Year published:  2007
ISBN:  978-1-59915-050-3
Genres:  British History, Historical Fiction

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Cavaliers and Roundheads
2. The Burning of Arnwood 
3. From Mansion to Cottage 
4. Pitching In 
5. Stalking Deer and Catching Cows 
6. An Anniversary Feast 
7. The Pitfall 
8. Edward Meets the Intendant 
9. The Death of the Old Forester 
10. On Their Own 
11. A Surprise in the Pitfall 
12. A Chance Encounter 
13. A Narrow Escape 
14. Lost in the Forest 

15. Caught in the Act
16. Another Cavalier Orphan 
17. Edward Is Offered a Position 
18. Secretary to the Intendant 
19. A Visit to the Cottage 
20. Battling over Treasure 
21. In London 
22. On the Road North 
23. Into Battle and Home Again 
24. Search Parties Abroad 
25. The Sisters Leave Home 
26. Edward Departs Abruptly 
27. Restoration

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Our Island Story

by H. E. Marshall

Puck of Pook's Hill

by Rudyard Kipling

The Railway Children

by Edith Nesbit