Rilla of Ingleside

by L. M. Montgomery

Description:  On the eve of her 15th birthday Rilla Blythe is looking forward to having a good time with an endless round of parties and dances. But her dream is shattered when World War I begins, and the glen boys start to enlist one after another to fight across the sea. Rilla takes on new responsibilities in a way no one expected, including working for the Red Cross and raising a war orphan she brought home in a soup tureen! The four long years of the war force Rilla to grow up quickly, transforming her into a sensitive, thoughtful, and capable young woman, much wiser in the ways of the world.

Additional information:

Ages:  10-14
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  None
Year published:  2013
ISBN:  978-1-59915-910-2
Genres:  Literature, Fiction

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Glen "Notes" and Other Matters
2. Dew of Morning
3. Moonlit Mirth
4. The Piper Pipes
5. "The Sound of a Going"
6. Susan, Rilla and Dog Monday Make a Resolution
7. A War Baby and a Soup Tureen
8. Rilla Decides
9. Doc Has a Misadventure
10. The Troubles of Rilla
11. Dark and Bright
12. In the Days of Langemarck
13. A Slice of Humble Pie
14. The Valley of Decision
15. Until the Day Break
16. Realism and Romance
17. The Weeks Wear By
18. A War Wedding

19. "They Shall Not Pass"
20. Norman Douglas Speaks Out in Meeting
21. "Love Affairs Are Horrible"
22. Little Dog Monday Knows
23. "And So, Goodnight"
24. Mary Is Just in Time
25. Shirley Goes
26. Susan Has a Proposal of Marriage
27. Waiting
28. Black Sunday
29. "Wounded and Missing"
30. The Turning of the Tide
31. Mrs. Matilda Pitman
32. Word from Jem
33. Victory!
34. Mr. Hyde Goes to His Own Place
35. "Rilla-My-Rilla!"

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Story of My Life

by Helen Keller

Little Women

by Louisa May Alcott

Little Men

by Louisa May Alcott

Florence Nightingale

by Laura E. Richards