by Harriette Taylor Treadwell

Description:  Continues with folk and fairy stories, and introduces the wonder tale, which becomes the dominant note, while the fable gives place to more extended and more modern animal stories. The poetry begins with the group from Stevenson, whom the children have already learned to enjoy. Then follow selections from Lydia Maria Child, Lucy Larcom, Eugene Field, and a score of others dealing mainly with children's interests in animals and other forms of nature. With this series of books, besides merely learning to read, the child has the joy of reading the best in the language, and he is forming his taste for all subsequent reading. Attractive black and white illustrations are appealing to children.

Additional information:

Ages:  8-9
Length:  246 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white (paperback),
                     Color (ebook)
Year published:  2008
ISBN:  978-1-59915-267-7
Genres:  Literature, Readers

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. The Enchanted Horse
2. Aladdin and His Lamp
3. Sinbad the Sailor
4. The Land of Nod
5. Foreign Lands
6. The Land of Counterpane
7. Marching Song
8. The Land of Storybooks
9. Foreign Children
10. The Wind
11. The Lamplighter
12. From a Railway Carriage
13. The Ugly Duckling
14. Thanksgiving Day
15. Who Stole the Bird's Nest?
16. The Bear and the Fox
17. The Fox and the Wolf
18. The Man and the Serpent
19. The Fox as Herdsman
20. The Brown Thrush
21. Berrying Song
22. Little Nannie
23. Calling the Violet
24. If I Were a Sunbeam
25. Alice in Wonderland
26. Wynken, Blynken, and Nod

27. The Shut-Eye Train
28. The Duel
29. The Snow-Image
30. A Visit from St. Nicholas
31. A Dog of Flanders
32. Robin Redbreast
33. Little Gustava
34. Good Night and Good Morning
35. How Doth the Little Busy Bee
36. The Bluebird
37. Answer to a Child's Question
38. Black Beauty
39. Ginger
40. The Spider and the Fly
41. The Owl and the Pussy-Cat
42. A Lobster Quadrille
43. The Mountain and the Squirrel
44. Tom the Chimney-Sweep
45. Tom the Water-Baby
46. Tom Becomes a Man
47. A Boy's Song
48. How the Leaves Came Down
49. Sweet and Low
50. September
51. The Wonderful World
52. The Throstle

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Water-Babies

by Charles Kingsley


by Harriette Taylor Treadwell

Black Beauty

by Anna Sewell