by Harriette Taylor Treadwell

Description:  Introductory volume in the series of Reading-Literature readers, whose purpose is to train children in reading and appreciating literature through the reading of literature. Contains nine of the best folk tales, true to the original, and yet written in such a simple style that children can quickly begin reading the real story. Includes The Little Red Hen, The Gingerbread Boy, The Old Woman and Her Pig, The Boy and the Goat, The Pancake, Chicken Little, Three Billy Goats Gruff, Little Tuppens, and Little Spider's First Web. Attractive black and white illustrations are appealing to children.

Additional information:

Ages:  5-8
Length:  112 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white (paperback),
                     Color (ebook)
Year published:  2006
ISBN:  978-1-59915-129-8
Genres:  Literature, Readers

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. The Little Red Hen
2. The Gingerbread Boy 
3. The Old Woman and the Pig 
4. The Boy and the Goat 
5. The Pancake 

6. Chicken Little 
7. Three Billy Goats Gruff 
8. Little Tuppens 
9. Little Spider's First Web

An Inside View...

Related Titles...


by Franklin T. Baker


by Harriette Taylor Treadwell