Puck of Pook's Hill

by Rudyard Kipling

Description:  A collection of fantastical short stories about the history of England, narrated to two children by the mischievous Puck, a mythological figure familiar to many from Shakespeare's play, A Midsummer Night's Dream. Puck leads off with a story set just prior to the Norman Conquest of England, and concludes with a tale from the time of the Magna Carta. In between are stories from the Roman and Viking eras, providing an informative look at the early development of England as a nation, told through the lens of historical fantasy by a master storyteller.

Additional information:

Ages:  10-12
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Color
Year published:  2013
ISBN:  978-1-59915-903-4
Genres:  World History, Historical Fiction

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Puck's Song
2. Weland's Sword
3. A Tree Song
4. Young Men at the Manor
5. Sir Richard's Song
6. Harp Song of the Dane Women
7. The Knights of the Joyous Venture
8. Thorkild's Song
9. Old Men at Pevensey
10. The Runes on Weland's Sword
11. A Centurion of the Thirtieth
12. A British-Roman Song

13. On the Great Wall
14. A Song to Mithras
15. The Winged Hats
16. A Pict Song
17. Hal o' the Draft
18. A Smugglers' Song
19. The Bee Boy's Song
20. "Dymchurch Flit"
21. A Three-Part Song
22. Song of the Fifth River
23. The Treasure and the Law
24. The Children's Song

An Inside View...

Related Titles...