by J. Paterson Smyth

Description: In this fourth volume in The Bible for School and Home series, Smyth handles the prophets TOGETHER WITH their kings, rather than discussing the kings first followed by the prophets according to the order they appear in the Bible. He treats the whole subject in bold, broad outline, exciting interest in this era through a series of biographies.

Additional information:

Ages:  14-18
Length:  264 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations: None
Year published:  2017
ISBN:  978-1-63334-011-4
Genres:  Faith, Biblical Commentary 

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Introduction
2. Prefatory Note 
3. Saul's Coronation 
4. Saul's Gloomy End 
5. David—His Youth 
6. David and Jonathan 
7. The Outlaw 
8. David as King 
9. The Fall of David 
10. Solomon 
11. Rehoboam and Jeroboam 
12. Ahab and Elijah (Part I) 
13. Ahab and Elijah (Part II) 
14. Ahab and Elijah (Part III) 

15. Elisha and the House of Jehu
16. Jeroboam the Great and His Three Great Prophets 
17. The Prophet Hosea and the Fall of Israel 
18. The Kingdom of Judah 
19. The Story of Seven Kings and of Two Bad Women 
20. The Kings of the Great Prophets 
21. Isaiah, the Royal Prophet of Jerusalem 
22. Hezekiah and the Reformation 
23. Hezekiah and Sennacherib 
24. King Josiah and the Finding of the Book of the Law 
25. Jeremiah and the Last Kings, Fall of the Nation 
26. The Exiles in Babylon 
27. The Return of the Exiles

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

St. Matthew

by J. Paterson Smyth

The Book of Genesis

by J. Paterson Smyth

Hurlbut's Story of the Bible

by Jesse Lyman Hurlbut