by Booth Tarkington

Description:  Although he is young, Penrod Schofield is far from guileless. Were he found in the company of other mischievous young characters such as Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer, Penrod would not appear out of place — he would likely even have a thing or two to teach them about troublemaking! In this first of a three book series, the heart of boyhood is revealed with rare humor and sympathy in the pranks, mishaps, and triumphs of Penrod. A book for parents as well as for boys.

Additional information:

Ages:  12-15
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2013
ISBN:  978-1-59915-854-9
Genres:  Literature, Fiction

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. A Boy and His Dog
2. Romance
3. The Costume
4. Desperation
5. The Pageant of the Table Round
6. Evening
7. Evils of Drink
8. School
9. Soaring
10. Uncle John
11. Fidelity of a Little Dog
12. Miss Rennsdale Accepts
13. The Smallpox Medicine
14. Maurice Levy's Constitution
15. The Two Families
16. The New Star

17. Retiring from the Show-Business
18. Music
19. The Inner Boy
20. Brothers of Angels
21. Rupe Collins
22. The Imitator
23. Coloured Troops in Action
24. "Little Gentleman"
25. Tar
26. The Quiet Afternoon
27. Conclusion of the Quiet Afternoon
28. Twelve
29. Fanchon
30. The Birthday Party
31. Over the Fence

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Captains Courageous

by Rudyard Kipling

In Freedom's Cause

by George Alfred Henty

Penrod and Sam

by Booth Tarkington

In My Youth

by James Baldwin