Nature's Nurseries

by R. Cadwallader Smith

Description:  Eleventh volume in the Eyes and No Eyes series, introduces the youthful reader to the nurseries of fish, frogs, insects, birds, and mammals, with special emphasis on birds and mammals. Children learn through a series of interesting stories how representative species from various parts of the world get their start in life, how they feed, how they play, and how that play prepares them to defend themselves as adults. Eight color and numerous black and white illustrations complement the text.

Additional information:

Ages:  8-10
Length:  81 pages
Format:  Paperback
Illustrations:  Color, black and white
Year published:  2020
ISBN:  978-1-63334-119-7
Genres:  Natural History, Nature Study

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Table of Contents

1. Fish Families
2. Froggie's Family
3. The Insect Nursery
4. Nurseries in Birdland
5. Nurseries in Birdland (continued)
6. Meal-Time in Birdland
7. Lesson-Time in Birdland
8. The Babes in the Wood
9. The Babes in the Wood (continued)
10. Beware of the Enemy
11. Playtime
12. Playtime (continued)

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Holiday Pond
by Edith M. Patch

Seaside and Wayside, Book One
by Julia McNair Wright

The First Book of Birds
by Olive Thorne Miller