Four American Pioneers

by Frances M. Perry

Description: Four brief biographies which relate the exploits of some of 19th century America’s principal adventurers. Guided by Kingsley’s vivid prose, readers go along for the journey as Lewis and Clark explore the vast tracts of the Louisiana Purchase, John Fremont ventures into Oregon and California, and Elisha Kent Kane pushes north toward the Pole. Full of brave deeds in the face of daunting odds, this book will leave even a restless child hungry for another chapter.

Additional information:

Ages:  10-12
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year Published:  2014
ISBN:  978-1-59915-856-3
Genres:  American History, Biography

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents


2. Childhood

3. A Young Hunter

4. Westward Ho!

5. A Second Robinson Crusoe

6. East Again

7. Preparing the Way

8. The New Kentucky Home

9. Indian Hostilities

10. Boone Made Prisoner

11. Captivity and Escape

12. Preparations for the Siege

13. The Siege of Boonesborough

14. Dark Days

15. Old Age


17. Boyhood and Youth

18. “Kentucki”

19. The Conquest of Illinois

20. Colonel Clark and the Indians

21. Indian Treaties

22. Vincennes

23. Through the "Drowned Land"

24. The Capture of Fort Sackville

25. The Delaware Indians

26. Back in Kentucky

27. Lochry's Defeat

28. Border Troubles

29. After the War


31. A Neglected Child

32. A Homesick Boy

33. A Runaway

34. A Hired Hand

35. A Householder

36. A Soldier

37. A Leading Citizen

38. A Bear Hunter

39. A Congressman

40. A Traveler

41. A Daring Adventurer

42. A Hero of the Alamo


44. Preparation

45. Getting a Start

46. Trapping in California

47. The Second Expedition

48. Free Trapping

49. Fair and Camp

50. Hunting in the Rockies

51. Carson and Fremont

52. West with Fremont

53. Again on the March

54. At Home

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

Four American Explorers

by Nellie F. Kingsley

In My Youth

by James Baldwin

Boy Life on the Prairie

by Hamlin Garland