Four American Explorers

by Nellie F. Kingsley

Description:  Four compact biographies of American pioneers. These depictions of Daniel Boone's settling of Kentucky, Colonel George Rodgers Clarke's battles with the British during the Revolution, Davy Crockett's defense of the Alamo, and Kit Carson's exploration of Oregon, California and other portions of the West) can serve as a starting point for the study of the United States' Westward expansion.

Additional information:

Ages:  10-12
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2014
ISBN:  978-1-59915-861-7
Genres:  American History, Biography

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. Introduction

2. The Two Captains

3. The Start

4. June and July

5. The First Indian Council

6. The Mountain of Little People

7. The Council with the Sioux

8. An Indian Dance

9. Winter among the Mandans

10. Indian Hunts

11. The Mandan Indians

12. The Winter

13. Fights with Grizzly Bears

14. An Important Decision

15. Making a Cache

16. An Exciting Morning

17. Passing the Falls

18. Up the Jefferson River

19. The Columbia River Reached

20. Among the Indians

21. Hesitation

22. Down the Snake River

23. Down the Columbia

24. Fort Clatsop and the Start Home

25. Ascent of the Columbia

26. Crossing the Bitter Root Mountains

27. Captain Lewis's Adventures

28. Captain Clark's Adventures

29. The End of the Great Expedition

30. A Start in Life

31. First Work for the Government

32. Second Expedition with Nicollet

33. Marriage

34. First Independent Western Expedition

35. The Party Divided

36. Second Independent Expedition

37. In the Far Northwest

38. Over the Sierra Nevadas

39. The Descent into the Valley

40. Homeward

41. Troubles with Mexicans

42. A Government Message

43. Frémont's War

44. The Fourth Expedition

45. The Last Years of Life

46. Boyhood

47. Studies Medicine

48. In Foreign Lands

49. In Mexico

50. Sent to the Arctic Seas

51. In the Polar Regions

52. Fast in the Ice

53. Bears and Walruses

54. Traces of Franklin

55. Winter in the Ice

56. Off for Home

57. Plans for a New Expedition

58. Journeying by Land and Sea

59. A Visit from Eskimos

60. Another Arctic Winter

61. The " Advance" Left in the Ice

62. Home Again

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

A Book of Discovery

by M. B. Synge

Four American Pioneers

by Frances M. Perry

Boy Life on the Prairie

by Hamlin Garland

Builders of Our Country, Book II

by Gertrude van Duyn Southworth