Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

by Margaret Sidney

Description:  Written by Margaret Sidney, this delightful novel tells the story of the spirited Pepper family. When Mr. Pepper passed away, Mrs. Mamsie Pepper was left with five children to raise in their little brown house. Though the Peppers are poor and hardworking souls, they keep their spirits up and take much joy in life. When Phronsie Pepper is kidnapped, a young man named Jasper King comes to her rescue and the two children's families become quite close, eventually resulting in a change of fortune for the Peppers.

Additional information:

Ages:  7-9
Format:  Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2013
ISBN:  978-1-59915-840-2
Genres:  Literature, Fiction

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. A Home View
2. Making Happiness for Mamsie
3. Mamsie's Birthday
4. Trouble for the Little Brown House
5. More Trouble
6. Hard Days for Polly
7. The Cloud over the Little Brown House
8. Joel's Turn
9. Sunshine Again
10. A Threatened Blow
11. Safe
12. New Friends
13. Phronsie Pays a Debt of Gratitude

14. A Letter to Jasper
15. Jolly Days
16. Getting a Christmas for the Little Ones
17. Christmas Bells!
18. Education Ahead
19. Brave Work and the Reward
20. Polly Is Comforted
21. Phronsie
22. Getting Ready for Mamsie and the Boys
23. Which Treats of a Good Many Matters
24. Polly's Dismal Morning
25. Polly's Big Bundle

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Railway Children

by Edith Nesbit

Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm

by Kate Douglas Wiggin

Understood Betsy

by Dorothy Canfield Fisher