by W. S. Furneaux

Look inside...

Description: A guidebook to the four seasons, calling attention to many of the more striking objects and phenomena which reveal themselves to the country rambler. The awakening of nature dominates the discussion in Spring. In Summer the focus shifts to the various habitats—woods, hedgerows, wastes, streams, heaths, bogs, marshes, fields, and meadows—and what can be found there. Fruits and seeds and preparation for winter are the main topics in Autumn. The condition of plants, animals, and trees in Winter round out the year. The 171 illustrations depicted in 46 Plates at the beginning of the original book are separated in this edition and inserted as individual illustrations where they are referenced in the text.

Additional information:

Ages:  12-18
Length:  255 pages
Format:  Paperback, Ebook
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year Published: 2015
ISBN: 978-1-63334-546-1
Genres:  Nature Study

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Add ebook to cart

Table of Contents

1. The Awakening of Nature
2. Opening Buds 
3. The Reappearance of Hibernating Creatures 
4. Wayside and Hedgerow 
5. How Plants Climb 
6. The Woods in Spring 
7. Fields and Pastures 
8. The Woods in Summer 
9. Hedgerows 
10. Waysides and Wastes 
11. By the Stream 
12. Over Heath and Moor 
13. Round Bog and Marsh 
14. Fields and Meadows 

15. In the Woods
16. Autumn Tints 
17. The Fall of the Leaf 
18. Autumn Fruits 
19. The Dispersion of Seeds and Fruits 
20. How Animals Prepare for the Winter 
21. Fields and Hedgerows in Autumn 
22. The Winter Condition of Plants 
23. Trees in Winter 
24. Winter Buds 
25. Animal Life in Winter 
26. Winter Flowers 
27. Evergreens 
28. Frost and Snowstorm

An Inside View...

Related Titles...

The Living Year

by Richard Headstrom

The Fall of the Year

by Dallas Lore Sharp

Plant Life in Field and Garden

by Arabella B. Buckley

A Nature Study Guide

by W. S. Furneaux