Architecture Shown to the Children

by Gladys Wynne

Description:  A first book of architecture-Greek, Roman, Byzan­tine, Romanesque, Norman, Gothic, and Renaissance-with a chapter devoted to each style, presented in such a way as to awaken the interest of the reader in the buildings around them. We are first introduced to the distinctive elements in each style and how they are combined into larger structures, but it is through the stories the author shares that the buildings come to life for us as we gain an understanding of the purpose of each building in the context of the culture from which it emerged. The author also gives us an appreciation for how the different styles influenced each other, with borrowings from the past, and innovations inspiring further developments. Over forty photographs of buildings and ninety drawings positioned near their description in the text form the backbone of this book.

Additional information:

Ages:  13-18
Length:  154 pages
Format:  Paperback
Illustrations:  Black and white
Year published:  2022
ISBN:  978-1-63334-161-6
Genres:  Art and Architecture

Purchase book at Amazon

Add print book to cart

Table of Contents

1. Greek Architecture
2. Roman Architecture
3. Byzantine Architecture
4. Romanesque Architecture
5. Norman Architecture
6. Gothic Architecture
7. Renaissance Architecture

An Inside View...

Related Titles...