Yesterday's Classics for High Quality Ebooks


Bible Commentaries

by J. Paterson Smyth

All eight volumes in The Bible for School and Home series, used in Charlotte Masonís schools, and intended for parents and teachers to use in preparing Bible lessons for the children in their charge. Each of the volumes contains two dozen or more lessons, preceded by the same lengthy introduction to sound teaching practices, a section which is well worth reading. For each lesson, Smyth specifies the Biblical passages to cover, then provides background information you can incorporate in your telling of the story to gain the interest of your children, carefully framed questions you can use to draw their attention to the main points, and ways you might direct the conversation to stir their affections and their actions.

  Buy Button Price

Titles Included

Cover of smyth_genesis   

The Book of Genesis by J. Paterson Smyth

This first volume in The Bible for School and Home series covers the Creation, the Fall, the Flood, the call of Abraham, and the story of Joseph, with Smyth showing at every turn how the individual stories fit into God's overall plan.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_moses   

Moses and the Exodus by J. Paterson Smyth

This second volume in The Bible for School and Home series follows Moses from his infancy all the way to his passing, through the special training he received that prepared him to become the deliverer, leading the Israelites out of Egypt, and guiding them as they wandered in the wilderness.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_joshua   

Joshua and the Judges by J. Paterson Smyth

This third volume in The Bible for School and Home series is divided into two parts, the first chronicling the conquest of West Palestine under Joshua and the subsequent allotment of lands, and the second dealing with the Book of Judges where one story after another recounts instances of Sinning and Punishment, Repenting and Deliverance.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_prophets   

Prophets and Kings by J. Paterson Smyth

In this fourth volume in The Bible for School and Home series, Smyth handles the prophets TOGETHER WITH their kings, rather than discussing the kings first followed by the prophets according to the order they appear in the Bible. He treats the whole subject in bold, broad outline, exciting interest in this era through a series of biographies.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_galilee   

When the Christ CameóThe Highlands of Galilee by J. Paterson Smyth

This fifth volume in The Bible for School and Home series begins with the long-awaited birth of Jesus, then considers the significance of His visit to the Temple, and His Baptism and Temptation. With the calling of the disciples, we move to the primary focus of this volume: His public ministry in Galilee. Some of the highlights include the discussions about the Sermon on the Mount, the Lord's Prayer, and the Parable of the Sower.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_jerusalem   

When the Christ CameóThe Road to Jerusalem by J. Paterson Smyth

In this sixth volume in The Bible for School and Home series, the scene shifts to Jerusalem where Jesus is going to die. Knowing His time is limited, Jesus packs these last days full of powerful teachings, including the Parables of the Lost Sheep, the Lost Coin, the Prodigal Son, the Good Samaritan, the Ten Virgins, and the Talents. All of these are well covered in this commentary, as are the moving scenes from Holy Week leading up to the Crucifixion and Resurrection.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_matthew   

St. Matthew by J. Paterson Smyth

With this seventh volume in The Bible for School and Home series, the focus is on Christ's great enthusiasm, which was the founding on earth of what he called THE KINGDOM OF GOD, as described in the Gospel of St. Matthew. More of Christ's teachings are considered, and some of the ones treated in earlier volumes, are revisited in this commentary in the context of THE KINGDOM OF GOD.  For Adults
Cover of smyth_mark   

St. Mark by J. Paterson Smyth

This eighth volume in The Bible for School and Home series focuses on the spreading of the Kingdom of God on earth. It consists of the lessons on St. Mark and the first eight chapters of Acts, extracted from the Church of Ireland Sunday School Lessons, Calendar III. Also included are chapters on the three church festivals referenced in these lessons: Easter, Ascension Day, and Pentecost.  For Adults

  Buy Button Price

Copyright (c) 2005 - 2018   Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.